top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKristin Pressley

Sit Down September


Like Erykah Badu said “Love of my life, you are my friend….Love of my life….I can depend…” My mama is just that, one of the loves of my life, my absolute best friend, my biggest cheerleader, teacher; and one person I know I can always depend on. My mama had me when she was 21, and since 92’ I’ve been her side kick (as she likes to say). Her and I grew up together and are still growing together. Our relationship is something truly special, it’s filled with lots of laughter, smiles, love, empowerment, uplifting, and vulnerability. There is very little my mama doesn’t know about me—even when I try to keep secrets from her, somehow she already knows what is going on---I guess it’s her mama instinct.

Just to give you a little insight on our relationship: mama and I have that relationship where mama/daughter time consist of lunch or dinner dates, sitting and talking about any and everything, trying new wines while watching Real Housewives of Atlanta or New Jersey—with us as commentators. When I was in undergrad me and mama talked 5+ times a day, almost every day. Even now I catch a little attitude when my sister’s tell me they’ve talked to her and she hasn't called me. My mama calls me her big baby, and I am not ashamed of it. Hearing her voice and talking to her, lifts my spirits and gets me back to my place of peace. When mama and I had our “Sit down September” session, I was in a total slump; but after this conversation I was back to my happy place and ready to conquer the week. I had the pleasure of asking her some questions that I’ve always wanted to know.

Me: What is one thing you would have done differently as a mom?

Mama: There isn’t much I would’ve done differently as a mom, except coming to prison and being away from you and your sisters.

---anyone that knows my mama, knows that my sisters and I are her world. The unconditional love she has for us, has been evident since day 1. If one of us were to ask her for both her kidneys, she would do it without blinking an eye.

Me: In what ways do you think I am like you? And not like you?

Mama: You are like me when it comes to your compassion for others, you’re open and honest, caring, and a giver…(Laughing) You are definitely more level headed than I am, you think before you speak and are not quick to react; you’re like your dad in those aspects.

---admire my mama for how high she holds her relationships/friendships. Watching how loving, selfless, and caring she is towards others and her friends/family; has helped mold me into the friend, sister, and overall person I am towards others.

Me: What’s one thing you wish you did differently before you got married or had kids?

Mama: I would’ve been like you and got my Master’s. But all in all, I am glad life has turned out the way it has; plus or minus something’s. Because the mistakes I’ve made has ultimately help you all grow and learn what not to do.

--- I remember when mama was in college and I was 4, she use to take me to school with her and sit me in a desk beside her,with my snacks. I truly believe this is why I love school till this day.

Me: What are you looking forward to in the future?

Mama: Making new memories, watching you and your sisters grow up: get married, graduate from college and medical school, have children, all the pivotal moments ya’ll will experience. I’m looking forward to continuing to have a better life as a family.

Everything I do in life, I truly do to make her proud and put a smile on her face. I tell her all the time, once I’m officially a doctor, I’m giving her the world and everything in it. Everything I know about life and being a lady; I’ve learned from her. I finally see now why she taught me the lessons she did and how she did. She always says “I love you to the moon and back” and I love her just the same. She is everything to me. No matter where life takes me, what I do; I know without a shadow of a doubt that if I look to my left, right, front, or back that she will be there. There cheering me on, loving on me, defending and protecting me, and telling me if I’m right or wrong.I am grateful that God allowed her to be my mama and no matter how old I get I will always be her “Big Baby” .


242 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page